FLEX-Ed Classroom Training - NEW SESSIONS starting in MAY 2016!
What is it?
A drivers education option where you choose all of your classroom dates and your driving dates on our web site! THIS IS A GREAT OPTION FOR BUSY KIDS DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR!
FLEX-Ed allows you to get a learners permit 30 days before the start of class***!
How does it work?
Per state law, all teens in Illinois must take 30 hours of classroom study as well as the driving portion of a chosen program in order to get a license before they turn 18.
Teens today are very, very busy with school requirements and extracurricular activities.
We are offering a FLEX-Ed option to help ease the burden of the classroom portion of drivers ed.
Each lesson is offered two, three or four times per week, dates to be determined as student enrollment increases or decreases. Days may be added or removed based on the enrollemnt in this program.
Students/Parents must choose a class date for each lesson, one per week, which fits their personal schedules.
Each class time has a seating/registration limit of 35 students per evening. Once a class session is full, there will be only two options left, etc.
Each student must sign up for lessons 1-15 to complete a course.
Students can miss up to four scheduled lessons, but they must make them up at a different time when that particular lesson is offered. If a student misses more than four lessons in this series, they must start the program again. For Example... if you have a vacation lanned for one of the weeks of the FLEX-Ed program, your teenw ill miss one lesson, and will be able to make that specific lesson up in any of our other sessions when that lesson is offered. Your teen has 9 months from the start of class to make up all missed classes. You can register for FLEX-Ed up until the 3rd lesson/week as you MUST be present for one of the first three classes in order to be enrolled in any drivers ed program.
The RESPONSIBILITY for registering for ALL fifteen required classroom sessions is on you!
Choose your lesson dates NOW while registering. If a conflict occurs later in the course with a date you chose, you can change your scheduled lesson to another session that same week, or you can miss it.
Who is eligible to take this class?
Any teen who is currently 15 years old or will be 15 by the last date offered for the classroom lessons.
We encourage all student to get a learners permit as early as possible, but it is not required to start classes with us.
The permit application can be obtained from our Main Office in Barrington after enrolling for the course. All fees for the FLEX-Ed course must be paid in full to obtain this application. There will be NO REFUNDS if you choose to not take this course once a permit application has been issued.
Students are NOT required to obtain the permit application form before the beginning of class and all students must be 15 before eligible to sit for the written exam at the Secretary of States office.
We will distribute the permit application forms to all students during the first lesson.
Students must be able to answer all of the chapter questions in the Illinois Rules of the Road book, and they must know the meaning of all of the road signs before taking/sitting for the written test.
The first four lessons of our curriculum covers the permit test and requirements in depth to prepare the students for the states written exam. If your teen is a self learner and wants to study on their own to obtain a learners permit before class starts, they will still benefit from these lessons as a refresher.
***permit applications will be issued when full payment is made for the FLEX-Ed course. If a student decides to not take the course they are enrolled in then their learners permit will be suspended per state law. The permit will be re-instated when they are enrolled in another course.